Licensees must register annually by December 31. In order to renew, licensees must complete 40 hours of CPE within a one year compliance period ending every June 30.
Personal development courses are limited to a maximum of 20 hours per year.
A minimum of 4 credit hours must be earned in a Board approved Ethics, Professional Conduct, Public Accountancy Law and Regulations course(s) each triennial period. The four hour ethics requirement can be met by taking our Mississippi Ethics course. Follow the ethics link on our home page to access the course.
All required CPE can be acquired through self-study.
Yes. The Board will only accept self-study programs from CPE sponsors that are approved by the Quality Assurance Services (QAS) program through the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). As a registered QAS provider, our courses are accepted for credit in Mississippi.
As a member of the NASBA Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, we are required to conform to the measurement standards contained in the Statement on Standards of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs developed jointly by NASBA and the AICPA. Under these Standards our credits are based upon 1 CPE credit for every 50-minutes of study time, as determined by the average test results of CPAs pre-testing the material prior to publication.
Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy
5 Old River Place, Ste. 104
Jackson, MS 39202-3449
Phone: (601) 354-7320
Fax: (601) 354-7290