Licensees must register triennially. Renewal requires the completion of 120 hours of CPE during the preceding triennial period with a minimum of 20 hours per year.
The 120 hours must include at least 24 hours in the areas of auditing, review and compilation for persons who are engaged in the practice of public accounting or are involved with the attest function in issuing audit, review or compilation reports. In addition, the 120 hours must include at least 72 credit hours in technical subjects and 4 hours in a New Jersey law and ethics course. The ethics requirement cannot be met through self-study.
All the CPE requirement can be met through self-study, excluding ethics.
Self-study providers must be a member of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) Registry or QAS program.
Yes. The Board requires self-study CPE providers to register with NASBA. As a registered New Jersey sponsor (sponsor number 20CEOOO17300) and a member of NASBA’s Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, our courses are accepted for credit in New Jersey.
As a member of the NASBA Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, we are required to conform to the measurement standards contained in the Statement on Standards of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs developed jointly by NASBA and the AICPA. Under these Standards our credits are based upon 1 CPE credit for every 50-minutes of study time, as determined by the average test results of CPAs pre-testing the material prior to publication.
New Jersey State Board of Accountancy
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 45000
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: (973) 504-6380
Fax: (973) 648-2855