Licensees must register biennially by December 31st of even years. Renewal requires the completion of 80 hours of CPE in each two-year period ending on December 31 of each odd numbered year, with a minimum of 20 hours per year. CPE is reported by December 31 of even years.
Each licensee must report 4 hours of ethics included in the 80 hours, including 1 hour of content covering rules and regulations specific to the UT CPA Licensing Act. The remaining 3 hours can cover general regulatory ethics. These general ethics hours can be met by taking our The AICPA's Code of Professional Conduct or Ethics for CPAs: Accounting/Auditing Emphasis or Ethics for CPAs: Tax Emphasis courses. Go to the ethics sections on our home page and follow the links. Please note: AEG does NOT offer a course covering the 1 hour of UT content.
All required CPE can be acquired through self-study.
Yes. Our courses comply with all applicable Utah CPE requirements, which are based on CPE standards published in the Statement on Standards of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs developed jointly by NASBA and the AICPA.
As a member of the NASBA Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, we are required to conform to the measurement standards contained in the Statement on Standards of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs developed jointly by NASBA and the AICPA. Under these Standards our credits are based upon 1 CPE credit for every 50-minutes of study time, as determined by the average test results of CPAs pre-testing the material prior to publication.
Utah Board of Accountancy
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Phone: (801) 530-6628