Licenses renew on July 31st of odd-numbered years. Biennial renewal requires the completion of 80 hours of CPE during the two year period ending on the renewal date, with a minimum of 40 hours per year.
8 of the 80 hours must be in the subject area of accounting and auditing. In addition, licensees must successfully complete at least 4 of the 80 hours in the subject area of ethics based on the AICPA Code of Conduct and Vermont accountancy statutes and rules. The four-hour requirement can be met by taking our Vermont Ethics course. Follow the ethics links on our homepage to access this course.
All required CPE can be met through self-study courses.
Yes. The Board specifically endorses the Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs promulgated jointly by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. As a member of NASBA’s Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, our courses meet these Standards and are accepted for credit in Vermont.
As a member of the NASBA Registry and QAS sponsor approval programs, we are required to conform to the measurement standards contained in the Statement on Standards of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs developed jointly by NASBA and the AICPA. Under these Standards our credits are based upon 1 CPE credit for every 50-minutes of study time, as determined by the average test results of CPAs pre-testing the material prior to publication.
Vermont Board of Public Accountancy
Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main St, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Phone: (802 828-2373
Fax: (802) 828-2465